East Hampton, NY Photos

East Hampton Village, founded in 1648, was a farming community for two centuries and then evolved into a summer resort. The original village green or common remain as do the South End Burying Grounds and many historic homes along James Lane & Main St.

Click thumbnail to enlarge. F11 to view website full screen.
Home Sweet Home Museum dedicated to John Howard Payne, composer of "Home Sweet Home". East Hampton, NY.Garden view of Home Sweet Home Museum, trellis & gardens. East Hampton, NY.Mulford Farm built for Capt. Josiah Hobart & later home of Mulford family. East Hampton, NY.Mulford Farm saltbox style with bare wood siding. East Hampton, NY.
Home Sweet Home Museum (1823) (14 James Lane) dedicated to John Howard Payne, composer of "Home Sweet Home". East Hampton, NY. Style: Salt Box. Garden view of Home Sweet Home Museum, trellis & gardens. East Hampton, NY.Mulford Farm (c1680) (James Lane) built for Capt. Josiah Hobart & later home of Mulford family (1711-1948). East Hampton, NY.Mulford Farm saltbox style with bare wood siding. East Hampton, NY.
Mulford farm barn. East Hampton, NY.St. Luke's Episcopal Church & Medieval Revival rectory. East Hampton, NY.St. Luke's Episcopal Church gothic facade. East Hampton, NY.St. Luke's Episcopal Church & gardens. East Hampton, NY.
Mulford farm barn. East Hampton, NY.St. Luke's Episcopal Church (1909) & Medieval Revival rectory (on James Lane). East Hampton, NY.St. Luke's Episcopal Church gothic facade. East Hampton, NY.St. Luke's Episcopal Church & gardens. East Hampton, NY. Architect: Thomas Nash.
Town Pond. East Hampton, NY.South End Burying Grounds part of 1648 village green. East Hampton, NY.South End Burying Grounds with gravestones dating from 1600's. East Hampton, NY.Mill Cottage used by miller tending the Gardiner Windmill. East Hampton, NY.
Town Pond. East Hampton, NY.South End Burying Grounds part of 1648 village green. East Hampton, NY.South End Burying Grounds with gravestones dating from 1600's. East Hampton, NY.Mill Cottage (1887) (Maidstone & James Lanes) used by miller tending the Gardiner Windmill. East Hampton, NY.
Burying Ground tombstones, Mill Cottage & Gardiner Windmill. East Hampton, NY.Gardiner Windmill built by Nathaniel Dominy V which operated until about 1900. East Hampton, NY.Gardiner Cottage. East Hampton, NY.South End Burying Grounds. East Hampton, NY.
Burying Ground tombstones, Mill Cottage & Gardiner Windmill (James Lane). East Hampton, NY.Gardiner Windmill (1804) built by Nathaniel Dominy V which operated until about 1900. East Hampton, NY.Gardiner Cottage (James Lane). East Hampton, NY. Style: Cape Cod.South End Burying Grounds. East Hampton, NY.
Old tombstone in South End Burying Grounds. East Hampton, NY.Old tombstone with winged face in South End Burying Grounds. East Hampton, NY.Detail of design on old tombstone in South End Burying Grounds. East Hampton, NY.Grave marker of woman who died in 1752 in South End Burying Grounds. East Hampton, NY.
Old tombstone (1756) in South End Burying Grounds. East Hampton, NY.Old tombstone with winged face (1753) in South End Burying Grounds. East Hampton, NY.Detail of design on old tombstone in South End Burying Grounds. East Hampton, NY.Grave marker of woman who died in 1752 in South End Burying Grounds. East Hampton, NY.
Three grave markers in form of Celtic crosses in South End Burying Grounds. East Hampton, NY.View of old tombstones in South End Burying Grounds. East Hampton, NY.Tomb in memory of Lion Gardiner founder of the first English settlement in what became the State of New York. East Hampton, NY.Jeremiah Osborn House remodeled in the Colonial Revival style. East Hampton, NY.
Three grave markers in form of Celtic crosses in South End Burying Grounds. East Hampton, NY.View of old tombstones in South End Burying Grounds. East Hampton, NY.Tomb (1886) in memory of Lion Gardiner (1599-1663) founder of the first English settlement in what became the State of New York. East Hampton, NY. Architect: James Renwick Jr..Jeremiah Osborn House (18th C) remodeled in the Colonial Revival style (1906). East Hampton, NY.
James Harper Poor House with 18thC farmhouse core sports half-timbering & small-paned casement windows. East Hampton, NY.Clinton Academy opened for classes in 1784, the oldest academic institution in New York State, was named for George Clinton, first Governor of NY. East Hampton, NY.Clinton Academy main entrance & bell tower. East Hampton, NY.Brick ends of wooden Clinton Academy. East Hampton, NY.
James Harper Poor House (1911) (Main St.) with 18thC farmhouse core sports half-timbering & small-paned casement windows. East Hampton, NY. Style: Medieval Revival. Architect: Joseph Greenleaf Thorp.Clinton Academy (101 Main St.) opened for classes in 1784, the oldest academic institution in New York State, was named for George Clinton, first Governor of NY. East Hampton, NY.Clinton Academy main entrance & bell tower. East Hampton, NY.Brick ends of wooden Clinton Academy. East Hampton, NY.
Hook School actual function unknown behind Clinton Academy. East Hampton, NY.Interior of Hook School classroom. East Hampton, NY.Mimi Meehan Native Plant Garden maintained by The Garden Club of East Hampton. East Hampton, NY.Mimi Meehan Native Plant Garden. East Hampton, NY.
Hook School (c1785) actual function unknown behind Clinton Academy. East Hampton, NY.Interior of Hook School classroom. East Hampton, NY.Mimi Meehan Native Plant Garden (101 Main St.) maintained by The Garden Club of East Hampton. East Hampton, NY.Mimi Meehan Native Plant Garden. East Hampton, NY.
Jonathan Dayton House. East Hampton, NY.Osborne Office. East Hampton, NY.Sarah Diodati Gardiner House. East Hampton, NY.James Arrowsmith House. East Hampton, NY.
Jonathan Dayton House (18th C) (Main St.). East Hampton, NY. Style: Georgian.Osborne Office (18th C) (Main St.). East Hampton, NY.Sarah Diodati Gardiner House (1939) (Main St.). East Hampton, NY. Style: Spanish Romanesque.James Arrowsmith House (1872) (Main St.). East Hampton, NY. Style: Italianate.
James Arrowsmith House with lacework front porch. East Hampton, NY.Samuel G. Mulford House aka "single house" since only one room wide. East Hampton, NY.James Arrowsmith & Samuel G. Mulford Houses form Main Streetscape. East Hampton, NY.Georgian style house. East Hampton, NY.
James Arrowsmith House with lacework front porch. East Hampton, NY.Samuel G. Mulford House (c1800) (146 Main St.) aka "single house" since only one room wide. East Hampton, NY.James Arrowsmith & Samuel G. Mulford Houses form Main Streetscape. East Hampton, NY.Georgian style house (140 Main St.). East Hampton, NY.
Sherrill House. East Hampton, NY.Federal doorway of Sherrill House. East Hampton, NY.First Presbyterian Church of East Hampton remodeled to Colonial Revival style. East Hampton, NY.First Presbyterian Church of East Hampton Colonial Revival style portico, clock tower & spire. East Hampton, NY.
Sherrill House (1800) (128 Main St.). East Hampton, NY.Federal doorway of Sherrill House. East Hampton, NY.First Presbyterian Church of East Hampton (1861) (Main St.) remodeled to Colonial Revival style (1960). East Hampton, NY.First Presbyterian Church of East Hampton Colonial Revival style portico, clock tower & spire. East Hampton, NY.
David Huntting House with dormer windows & porch added. East Hampton, NY.Jonathan Osborn House subsequently expanded. East Hampton, NY.Jonathan Osborn House subsequently expanded. East Hampton, NY.Col. Abraham Gardiner House occupied by British troops during American Revolution & now home to Ladies' Village Improvement Society. East Hampton, NY.
David Huntting House (c1800) (102 Main St.) with dormer windows & porch added (1923). East Hampton, NY.Jonathan Osborn House (aka Osborn-Jackson House) (c1731) (101 Main St.) subsequently expanded. East Hampton, NY.Jonathan Osborn House (aka Osborn-Jackson House) (c1731) (101 Main St.) subsequently expanded. East Hampton, NY.Col. Abraham Gardiner House (1747) (Main St.) occupied by British troops during American Revolution & now home to Ladies' Village Improvement Society. East Hampton, NY.
White's Apothecary. East Hampton, NY.East Hampton Village Hall former home of Rev. Lyman Beecher, minister of First Presbyterian Church of East Hampton, & father of Harriet Beecher Stowe, author of "Uncle Tom's Cabin". East Hampton, NY.Hedges Inn addition of two upper stories to transform into a boarding house. East Hampton, NY.Move next to church? St. Luke's Rectory. East Hampton, NY.
White's Apothecary (Main St.). East Hampton, NY.East Hampton Village Hall (36 Main St.) former home of Rev. Lyman Beecher, minister of First Presbyterian Church of East Hampton, & father of Harriet Beecher Stowe, author of "Uncle Tom's Cabin". East Hampton, NY.Hedges Inn (1774) (James Lane) addition of two upper stories (1873) to transform into a boarding house. East Hampton, NY.Move next to church? St. Luke's Rectory (James Lane). East Hampton, NY. Style: Medieval Revival.
Hook Mill built by Nathaniel Dominy V. East Hampton, NY.Outdoor eating at Bostwicks Chowder House. East Hampton, NY.Fish & lobster sign at Bostwicks Chowder House. East Hampton, NY.
Hook Mill (1806) built by Nathaniel Dominy V. East Hampton, NY.Outdoor eating at Bostwicks Chowder House. East Hampton, NY.Fish & lobster sign at Bostwicks Chowder House. East Hampton, NY.

See Also:

All photos on this page are originals by & copyrighted by Jim Steinhart.
All rights reserved. Permission required to use.