Astoria, OR Photos

Astoria, Oregon sits near the mouth of the Columbia River. The town was founded in 1810 by the fur trading company of John Jacob Astor. The Columbia River was discovered in 1792 by Captain Robert Gray and named after his ship, the Columbia Rediviva. The Lewis and Clark Expedition only reached the area of Astoria in 1805 after traveling overland from the U.S. Today Astoria attracts visitors with its heritage and scenery.

Click thumbnail to enlarge. F11 to view website full screen.
Astoria-Megler Bridge over the Columbia River. Astoria, OR.Cannery Pier Hotel beside Astoria-Megler Bridge. Astoria, OR.Astoria City Hall portal. Astoria, OR.Astoria City Hall. Astoria, OR.
Astoria-Megler Bridge (1966) (21,474ft 6,545m) over the Columbia River. Astoria, OR. Architect: William A. Bugee.Cannery Pier Hotel beside Astoria-Megler Bridge. Astoria, OR. Astoria City Hall portal. Astoria, OR.Astoria City Hall (1923) (1095 Duane St.) (former Astoria Savings Bank). Astoria, OR. Architect: John V. Bennes.
Clatsop County Courthouse. Astoria, OR.Labor Temple. Astoria, OR.Carruthers part of Associated Building. Astoria, OR.Associated Building with Copeland, Hobson & Carruthers sections. Astoria, OR.
Clatsop County Courthouse (1904) (749 Commercial St.). Astoria, OR. Architect: Edgar M. Lazarus. On National Register.Labor Temple (1924) (934 Duane St.). Astoria, OR.Carruthers part of Associated Building (1923) (12th at Commercial St.). Astoria, OR. Architect: Charles T. Diamond.Associated Building with Copeland, Hobson & Carruthers sections (1923) (12th at Commercial St.). Astoria, OR. Architect: Charles T. Diamond.
Associated Building detail with 1923 year of construction. Astoria, OR.Liberty Theatre. Astoria, OR.Upper storey Italian Renaissance decorations of Liberty Theatre. Astoria, OR.Upper storey Italian Renaissance decorations of Liberty Theatre. Astoria, OR.
Associated Building detail with 1923 year of construction. Astoria, OR.Liberty Theatre (1924) (1203 Commercial St.). Astoria, OR. Style: Italian Renaissance. Architect: John Bennes & Herman Herzog. On National Register.Upper storey Italian Renaissance decorations of Liberty Theatre. Astoria, OR.Upper storey Italian Renaissance decorations of Liberty Theatre. Astoria, OR.
John Jacob Astor Hotel. Astoria, OR.Facade of John Jacob Astor Hotel. Astoria, OR.Decorative details of John Jacob Astor Hotel. Astoria, OR.Colorful gas meters in Astoria. Astoria, OR.
John Jacob Astor Hotel (1922) (1401 Commercial St.). Astoria, OR. Architect: Tourtellotte & Hummel. On National Register.Facade of John Jacob Astor Hotel. Astoria, OR.Decorative details of John Jacob Astor Hotel. Astoria, OR.Colorful gas meters in Astoria. Astoria, OR.
Uppertown Firefighters Museum. Astoria, OR.Antique fire engines in Uppertown Firefighters Museum. Astoria, OR.Antique horse-drawn ladder rig in Uppertown Firefighters Museum. Astoria, OR.Captain George Flavel House. Astoria, OR.
Uppertown Firefighters Museum (former Uppertown Fire Station #2) (1896 & 1928) (2968 Marine Drive). Astoria, OR. Architect: Emil Schact. On National Register.Antique fire engines in Uppertown Firefighters Museum. Astoria, OR.Antique horse-drawn ladder rig in Uppertown Firefighters Museum. Astoria, OR.Captain George Flavel House (1885 ) (441 8th St.). Astoria, OR. Style: Queen Anne. On National Register.
Astoria Heritage Museum in former City Hall. Astoria, OR.Wooden chimney at Fort Clatsop NHS replica. Astoria, OR.Columbia River Maritime Museum. Astoria, OR.Observation deck atop Astoria Column with sgraffito frieze by Attilio Pusterla spiraling from bottom to top chronologically. Astoria, OR.
Astoria Heritage Museum in former City Hall (1905) (1618 Exchange St.). Astoria, OR. Architect: Emil Schact. On National Register. Wooden chimney at Fort Clatsop NHS replica. Astoria, OR. Columbia River Maritime Museum (2002) (1792 Marine Dr.). Astoria, OR. Architect: Fletcher Farr Ayotte. Observation deck atop Astoria Column with sgraffito frieze by Attilio Pusterla spiraling from bottom to top chronologically. Astoria, OR.

See Also:

All photos on this page are originals by & copyrighted by Jim Steinhart.
All rights reserved. Permission required to use.