Old St. Louis County Courthouse, MO Photos

The Old St. Louis County Courthouse is now a museum which is part of Jefferson National Expansion Memorial operated by National Park Service. Building started in 1828 under architects Lavielle & Morton and later expanded by others. The extensive murals in the dome by Carl Wimar and two of the original courtrooms have been restored. The most famous case tried in the building was the 1847 Dred Scott Decision under which the court entrenched slavery by ruling they could not be free in free states. The courtroom used for Dred Scott no longer exists.

Click thumbnail to enlarge. F11 to view website full screen.
Gateway Arch & St. Louis skyline from Mississippi River. St Louis, MO.Old St. Louis County Courthouse seen from atop Gateway Arch. St Louis, MO.Old Courthouse at dusk. St Louis, MO.Old St. Louis County Courthouse now a museum of Jefferson National Expansion Memorial operated by National Park Service. St Louis, MO.
Gateway Arch & St. Louis skyline from Mississippi River. St Louis, MO.Old St. Louis County Courthouse (1828) seen from atop Gateway Arch. St Louis, MO.Old Courthouse at dusk. St Louis, MO.Old St. Louis County Courthouse (1828) now a museum of Jefferson National Expansion Memorial operated by National Park Service. St Louis, MO. Architect: Lavielle & Morton.
Old St. Louis County Courthouse framed by the Gateway Arch. St Louis, MO.