Fort Beauséjour on Bay of Fundy Photos

At the upper end of the Bay of Fundy, Fort Beauséjour was built by the French in 1751 to defend the isthmus of Chignecto. Captured by the British in 1755, it was renamed Fort Cumberland & held against an American attack in 1776. The ruins are now run by Parks Canada.

Click thumbnail to enlarge. F11 to view website full screen.
Fort Beauséjour National Historic Park on hill over tidal flats of Bay of Fundy. NB.Walls of Fort Beauséjour guard to upper end of Bay of Fundy. NB.Ramparts of Fort Beauséjour. NB.Ruins of barracks at Fort Beauséjour. NB.
Fort Beauséjour National Historic Park on hill over tidal flats of Bay of Fundy. NB.Walls of Fort Beauséjour guard to upper end of Bay of Fundy. NB.Ramparts of Fort Beauséjour. NB.Ruins of barracks at Fort Beauséjour. NB.
View of defenses at Fort Beauséjour. NB.Fort Beauséjour walls & museum building run by Parks Canada. NB.Model of Fort Beauséjour when French possessed the region. NB.Micmac Indian porcupine quill basket at Fort Beauséjour museum. NB.
View of defenses at Fort Beauséjour. NB.Fort Beauséjour walls & museum building run by Parks Canada. NB.Model of Fort Beauséjour when French possessed the region. NB.Micmac Indian porcupine quill basket (c1780) at Fort Beauséjour museum. NB.
Micmac Indian porcupine quill basket at Fort Beauséjour museum. NB.18th C teapot with wooden handle at Fort Beauséjour museum. NB.English strawberry pattern cup & saucer at Fort Beauséjour museum. NB.Victor typewriter with lever instead of keys at Fort Beauséjour museum. NB.
Micmac Indian porcupine quill basket (c1780) at Fort Beauséjour museum. NB.18th C teapot with wooden handle at Fort Beauséjour museum. NB.English strawberry pattern cup & saucer (c1800) at Fort Beauséjour museum. NB.Victor typewriter with lever instead of keys (c1889) at Fort Beauséjour museum. NB.

See Also:

All photos on this page are originals by & copyrighted by Jim Steinhart.
All rights reserved. Permission required to use.